Happy Mother’s Day

May 13, 2012 § 2 Comments

It’s my very first Mother’s Day, barely 3 weeks since I had my daughter. The actual day of my scheduled Caesarean now seems strangely distant already. I do remember being scared, emotional, and drugged up. With all the morphine pumping through my veins the entire day, these are the bits of conversation I had with the myriad of medical staff to distract me from the fact that my uterus was being cut open so a human being could be extracted from my body.

– Tell me a story about each of your 8 children.
– Has anyone watched The Hunger Games?
– I learnt many military terms from Battlestar Galactica.
– Space cookies made me paranoid.
– That’s a pegasus.

And after all that, here she is, in a milk coma following a night feed.

§ 2 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day

  • Ingrid says:

    Hi Steph,

    We are hopefully going to be moving house soon and I am in the process of getting rid of stored things that we no longer need. I was just wondering whether you would be interested in a high chair for your daughter (for when she is a little older, perhaps). It was passed on to me by a friend and you are welcome to have it, if you don’t already have one. We live in Killarney Heights (just north of Chatswood/Roseville) if you are able to pop over and pick it up one day. Otherwise, I will try and bring it over to you sometime.

    Let me know…

    Ingrid

    • Steph says:

      Thanks so much for the offer, but I’m in a very tiny unit and there’s no room for a highchair. Though, I would love to meet you someday! Send me an email 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Mother’s Day at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

