To TV or not to TV?

July 22, 2010 § 2 Comments

Now that the date of the companion’s month-long European holiday bonanza is drawing near, with the anticipated long nights of many dates with myself, I have started thinking about buying a TV again after abandoning the idea a few months ago in the wake of quitting my well-paid but mentally disturbing employment. Although one might argue that I should have gotten used to the silence of a TV-less abode, whenever I do visit someone’s house with a TV, I inevitably find myself glued to it. Last night I discovered the existence of a very confusing show called The United States of Tara. From what I could make out, it’s Toni Collette talking to herself. Perhaps I could be wrong. I would need to watch more episodes.

Anyway, it appears my organized self may reap rewards, and a TV. Every year, I’m always the first one of anyone I know who lodges my tax return. I can’t help it, I just want all my damn money back now. So this year is no exception, and it’s a jackpot! I got back more than I expected, and it looks like a TV may be back on the agenda. Now the dilemma is, which one to get? LCD, LED, 3D HD? Suggestions welcomed.

§ 2 Responses to To TV or not to TV?

  • Orhan Kahn says:

    Get a HD LCD. Something that is Sony or LG. Get one that is large unless you have small spaces. Trust me, a large LCD TV in the middle of winter in the dark and a bottle of wine with a good movie is something extraordinary. Why do you think I’ve been doing so many movie reviews lately? Got to keep myself sug while Chandi is away.

    If you have the money get a Blu-Ray player or a PS3, even if you don’t play games. Its worth researching.

    Don’t feel pressured by salespeople, if you don’t like them or you only need information then be stern. You don’t need the cables they will push and make you think you’re wasting your money for not getting (you can buy them online instead and save hundreds!) and only get warranty if you want. I used to sell TV’s so feel free to ask me any questions.

  • s.p.y. says:

    I knew I could count on your advice. I’m getting a 42″ LG LED I think, details to come when it’s all set up. I am not sure about the cables, but am counting on someone else to make that decision for me!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading To TV or not to TV? at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

