12 months later

July 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

Like Chris, I try to practice a life of non-conformity. This unconventional way of life, which I have lived since 2008, when I decided to give everything up and pursue extended travel, has brought with it more challenges than I could have imagined. I stopped working for one year and decided to try my hand at travel writing, something I had always wanted to do. I spent 2 months writing a travel guide for women, now published online. Upon return to Australia, I jumped straight into self-employment in a volatile economic background. I did everything I could to get private work. In the last 3 months I embarked on a new creative venture.

Through all the lonely hours of documenting designs, articles, and general business ideas, after 12 months of unconventional income-earning, I have achieved the following:

– My travel guide the Art of Solo Travel has now sold at least 65 copies in 6 weeks. This will be passive income for me every month, for, forever, I hope.
– Private and FUN architectural work has earned me more income in 9 months than working full-time for an employer for 12 months.
– My new homeware label is now up and running exactly 3 months after its inception. Marketing is now the really hard bit.

So…just gotta keep going. It would really help if people would join my Facebook page and offer your support.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 12 months later at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

