Process of a new business

May 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

Sometimes it’s really hard to judge the value of what I’ve been doing the past 8 weeks especially when nil income is brought in and only expenses are going out. On cold and rainy days like this, I find no excuses to venture outdoors and spend money I’m not earning, so I stay at home all day trying to do at least one ‘useful’ thing which might help me achieve my greater goal, whether it’s writing a new article or brainstorming on new artwork. As I see my bank account dwindling, there are days when I do feel like giving up. But deep down inside I know I will never be satisfied just living an ordinary life in the rat-race, depending on others for my day-to-day life. So let me remind myself on what I have been doing the past 2 months.

1. Develop a new homewares brand ‘s.p.y.downunder’. Current products in the making include throw cushions and napkins.
2. Worked on multiple designs for the brand, finally settling on 4 designs.
3. Sourced organic fabric, meet with seamstresses, look for hand screen-printers in Sydney, buy zips and get labels made.
4. Come up with a corporate identity, designed logo, business cards, and tags.
5. Bought domain names, configure business emails.
6. Research competitors, gather ideas, list possible retail opportunities.
7. Shortlist weekend artists’ markets I might have a chance of hiring a stall from.
8. Sign up to etsy and madeit, in preparation for the moment my products are completed and photographed.

The process has been a long and slow slog. Who knew so much logistics was involved in the making of a mere cushion? I do now. Still a long way ahead, 4 to 6 weeks to be exact until the first prototypes are done. It’s very exciting, but man, I still feel like a bum!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Process of a new business at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

