Baroque Bistro

May 5, 2010 § 3 Comments

Over the weekend, after a mediocre visit to the Museum of Contemporary Art at Circular Quay, the companion and I unexpectedly stumbled onto an excellent French restaurant at The Rocks for lunch. It’s a place called Baroque, right at the entrance to the markets. It’s got everything you would ask for in a swish restaurant. The view, the ambience, the food, the wine, and most surprising of all, the excellent price. We didn’t have high hopes, as the last French restaurant we went to, La Guillotine, was disappointing to say the least. However, imagine our pleasant surprise when the most amazing and indulgent lunch was served, topped with refreshing French wine and the most wonderful entree I had ever eaten.

For starters, we had boudin of snapper and Crystal Bay prawns, terrine of skate, cured scallop, green olives, arugula. Don’t ask me what the last one was, but it’s seafood and it was perfect. For mains, I had a ocean trout with prawn bisque, and the companion had a special rainbow trout. Whole. It may not sound like much, but at the end of all that food, we were too full to have any of the delicious looking desserts and pastries on the menu. We spent another hour digesting our meal over the rest of the wine. It was fantastic. Even the companion, who is French and historically demanding and fussy about French food in Sydney, was so pleased he gave them the biggest tip I had ever seen him give. In fact, it might be the only tip I had ever seen him give.

My mouth is watering just thinking about it. I’m so going back there again soon.

§ 3 Responses to Baroque Bistro

  • Orhan Kahn says:

    Can’t say I’ve ever had French food. I don’t think I’ve ever had French wine either. In fact, I think I’ve only ever had Australian wine. Couple of weeks ago I was up in the Hunter Valley with Chandi and she is normally a lover of the cheap wines, but she ended up wanting the most expensive bottle we came across. And it was white wine. And I don’t like white wine. Bastard!

  • Steph says:

    You and Chandi should check this one out. An indulgent meal, no more than $50 each. But Hunter Valley sounds so much more fun.

  • […] where I had the best potatoes in world. However, for the money paid, I think Baroque, which I blogged about last month, would be to a similar standard for about half the […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Baroque Bistro at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

