Return to sender

March 17, 2010 § 2 Comments

Today I received some mail which was not mine, but for someone who used to live here. Like all mail I fish out of the mailbox which is not addressed to me, I do one of the following:

1. Chuck it in the bin.
2. Open it and read it.
3. Write ‘return to sender’ and put it back in the post.

For obvious reasons, No.1 rates the highest, because I figure if a person cannot be bothered redirecting mail to their new address, then it cannot be all that important. Sometimes I do No.2 when it’s from an obscure association such as Women’s Lawn Bowl Club. I cannot help it, curiosity gets the better of me every time. I have only done No.3 on two occasions. One was during Christmastime when I kept receiving Christmas cards for someone else. Another was someone’s certificate which looked rather important. Of course I was tempted to chuck every one of them in the bin, but I figure, re-directing Christmas cards was my good deed for the year.

§ 2 Responses to Return to sender

  • Chandi says:

    Working as an admin assistant, I always have to open mail for my bosses. Usually when I see a personal looking piece of mail, I obviously leave it sealed. Once I opened a very personal message from a woman breaking up with him and calling him an asshole. I didn’t want to get in trouble for reading such personal stuff, so I just chucked it. I wonder how my boss did find out that his girlfriend broke up with him…

  • Steph says:

    Oh lol! But why did she send such a personal mail to his office? Maybe she wanted everyone to know…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Return to sender at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

