An ode to denim

March 16, 2010 § 2 Comments

Hi new pair of jeans. Thanks for finding me. I’ve been looking for you since, well, since I bought my last pair of new jeans. It’s been a while. I think it’s been 2 years, maybe more, I don’t even remember. It hasn’t been easy. I’ve searched high and low for you, going into every reputable shop that sells jeans, a wad of cash in my pocket to thrust into the hands of anyone who could present me the perfect pair. Yes, I know there are jeans galore in every corner of this city, but finding one for me is a difficult mission. It is akin to finding a needle in a haystack. Perhaps the colour isn’t quite right. The blue is too blue, the pockets look funny, or the cut emphasizes the part I want to de-emphasize. Eventually, my heart gives up hope of ever finding another pair, and I slip back into my faded grey ones, hoping that another day another time, I would have better luck. One day. Well, today was that day. The best part was, I hadn’t even been looking. Somehow something drew me into this shop, as I casually made my way towards Town Hall Station. I spent 5 minutes grabbing this pair, 10 minutes to decide my butt looked good in it, 2 minutes to shove money into the cash register. All done and dusted by the time peak hour was over. Awesome.

§ 2 Responses to An ode to denim

  • terrashield says:

    The perfect jeans is almost impossible to find. I found one a few months ago… fit like it was made for me, despite the detailing at the back pocket was hideous.

  • Steph says:

    If the back pocket was hideous, then it is not the perfect pair of jeans! The perfect pair has everything just right. And for once, the pair I bought didn’t even need any shortening!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An ode to denim at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

