I have a question

February 23, 2010 § 2 Comments

It might be a conundrum. A while ago, I may have mentioned that I work for a ‘religious’ company. I can’t say too much, but let’s just say I’m working on projects that serve the religious community. Not only that, but it seems like 90% of my co-workers are saintly church-goers. Now I have nothing against people with deep religious beliefs, but I have never felt the need for these beliefs to help guide me down the road.

The conundrum is this. I have no appreciation for the community for which work I’m doing, although doing it pays my bills and buys me nice things. So something I don’t believe in, is supporting my lifestyle. Which I’m pretty sure are many sinful things that particular community does not support. For example, I’ll be standing on my milkcrate swigging alcohol and taking pictures with my new camera, bought with the money doing this work has earned me, cheering on the queens this Mardi Gras weekend. Ironic?

§ 2 Responses to I have a question

  • TerraShield says:

    Very… đŸ˜‰

    PS: I believe in saving paper to keep more trees on the ground than in the paper mill, but where I work, paper is used so much that I once wrote an ode to the ream of paper I had to use (unwillingly, of course).. a similar but not so similar situation, I guess. Probably best to separate life from work, or is it work from life?

  • Steph says:

    I guess we are all work whores! I try to separate work and life, but these days it’s getting hard especially since I work a lot at home.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I have a question at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

