North or south?

December 23, 2009 § Leave a comment

Sometimes I absolutely hate the holiday season in Sydney. That is because that’s what it is – holiday season. You always feel compelled like you need to go somewhere else for the holidays, just so you can join in the holiday spirit, gossip about who went where and who did what, who went to the north coast, who went to the south coast. Except in reality, I don’t celebrate Christmas, and I don’t usually go anywhere, even though going on holidays appears to be compulsory. If I had a choice I would work through Christmas and New Years, just so I could go on holidays when everyone else isn’t.

Anyway the point of this post is that it made me think about this time last year. Exactly this day last year I was in Porto, Portugal jumping on a plane to Marseille, France, where a kindly lady spontaneously invited me to spend Christmas Eve dinner with her and her family just so I would not have to spend it alone and miserable at a train station. It was the nicest thing a stranger had ever done for me. Then I promptly bid her goodbye a few hours later in order to hop on a 6 hour train to Toulouse to spend Christmas Day with someone special. That someone special took me to his parents’ house in the French countryside, and I spent a memorable dinner with them opening presents and drinking wine.

This year that someone special is spending Christmas all the way on my side of the world with me. I don’t think we are not going anywhere but I hope it will be as memorable for him here as it was for me there. For the first time I have bought someone a Christmas present. It’s fun buying presents for people. Happy holidays everyone!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading North or south? at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

