Cruising

November 14, 2009 § 1 Comment

In the last 12 hours, for the first time in more than 12 months, I drove a car. Not a car that I own, but still, a car, nonetheless. You would think that after 15 years of solid driving experience one wouldn’t feel nervous putting those car keys into that engine of that enormous car. I asked for a hatch, I got a damn sedan. I hate sedans! Anyway, there is a point. After feeling nervous for a whole 5 minutes, I stepped on that accelerator and zoomed myself into York Street right smack into the middle of Friday afternoon peak hour traffic. Then I had the smarts to turn into George Street. At 6pm! But it was fine. I drove myself home, then drove myself all the way to Greenacre, and drove right back into the city. And parked. In the city!

I feel like a whole different person driving a car. Wait, it’s extreme happiness! A big grin on my face! I never realized that it was so vital to the level of independence that I felt. I can do 10 things in a day, and go places I normally can’t be bothered to on public transport. I can go visit my friends whenever I want. I can buy stacks of furniture and load them up. I can go for dinner at obscure places. I can sing along to music and no one will judge me. I wish the companion could see how important driving is, but we can argue for infinity and it would do no good.

Today I’ve got lots planned with my temporary mobility. If only I didn’t have to return the car at 6pm today.

§ One Response to Cruising

  • Orhan Kahn says:

    Welcome to the club! My car is a sedan and although it is atleast a metre too long I love it nonetheless. Hate driving through the city though. Nothing good comes from that.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cruising at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

