Fratelli Fresh

November 9, 2009 § Leave a comment

When I was travelling last year one of the things I really missed about Australia was the enormous variety of food it had from various cultures around the world. Ever since I’ve been back I’ve been gorging myself at familiar places but also trying out new spots. As you all know I love to eat so I have decided that every once in a good while I am going to review some of the great food that Sydney offers. My last food review was Prague in Kings Cross.

Over the weekend a friend brought me along to have breakfast at this fantastic establishment in Danks Street, Waterloo – Cafe Sopra at Fratelli Fresh. The last time I went out for breakfast was yumcha at Marigold, so this was quite a refreshing change. It is basically a warehouse which sells produce downstairs and houses a cosy little cafe upstairs. As we walked up the steel stairs, I gaped at the amazing assortment of Italian vinegars, jams, wines and cakes around me.

It is not a large cafe, and probably only has 10 – 15 tables max. The menu is very inventive, and everything on it seemed mouth-watering. My dear friend, who had been keeping this place a secret from me, highly recommended the Shaved Brussel Sprout Salad With Pancetta And Poached Egg. Oh my, it was one of the best things I had ever tasted. You would think something like this was made out of secret ingredients in secret ways, but if you check out their website you will find a lot of their recipes available for anyone interested to recreate the awesome eating goodness. Plus, they also give free cooking classes, though it looks like you have to book heavily in advance. I might find myself there. Now that’s service, huh?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fratelli Fresh at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

