Melbourne versus Sydney

October 27, 2009 § 2 Comments

IMG_4465

That is an audition of ‘So You Think You Can Dance’ at Federation Square in Melbourne.

Spending 2 nights in Melbourne is almost like going to a whole different country. Everything is different. Although I’ve been there countless times, it still feels like a whole different world everytime I step foot there. Fine, I’m exaggerating, but as the feud between Melburnians and Sydneysiders sees no end, it’s pretty clear why Melbourne outshines Sydney in many ways. Before I get bashed up by Sydney – RELAX! I would never give up living here. However, there are many things we do fall short of.

Among the few things that Melbourne trumps Sydney is art. Melbourne has got outstanding art. From buildings to street art to furniture and fashion, it wins. Everything is designed. From the artwork on the bridge to sculptures everywhere in the city. I liked it.

Towers. As in high observation ones. Ones where those with extreme vertigo get sick just thinking about going up there. Somehow I was convinced to go to the Eureka Tower to visit the Skydeck. It is apparently 300m above sea level. Not only do you get to go to the Skydeck, but for a mere extra $12 you get to go to THE EDGE. At first I was stupidly agreed to go. Luckily you can only buy tickets on the 88th floor, so once we got up there, I quickly (and cleverly) chickened out, after witnessing wild gusts of wind knocking against a 3 x 3m glass box suspended 88 floors above Melbourne. 88 floors! I do not want to look down a glass floor 88 floors down to the street and pretend I am floating. Luckily, I am afraid of heights. Yes, I am not unproud of it.

Anyway, the point I was making is, even for someone with extreme vertigo, I admit Eureka Tower is better than Sydney Tower.

OH! I should talk about things in Melbourne that do suck. Left hook turns suck. I drove a car one time there, which was most definitely the last time. Can someone please explain why a car should stay on the left lane while wanting to turn right? Yeah, trams. It is a dangerous act of road behaviour. I don’t care what anyone says. Left hook turns should be banned.

St Kilda beach sucks. It sucks so much I wanted to go back and embrace Coogee beach in Sydney straightaway. And the weather. I do not even want to talk about it. People wearing scarves and hats in spring. It is insane. Although apparently I had missed a bit of wild weather over the weekend in Sydney. Rain! Lots of it. Where was I? Enjoying the cold sunshine in Melbourne. And now, winter is back in Sydney. Boo.

§ 2 Responses to Melbourne versus Sydney

  • Orhan Kahn says:

    The one thing that will eventually take me to Melbourne is the food. I’m told the food-life there is something that must be experienced and by what I’ve seen on YouTube it aint no joke. Lets face it, Sydney is known for many great things. Food is not one of those great things.

  • Steph says:

    I don’t know if I would agree with that. Though I don’t disagree that Melbourne has good food, Sydney has a great selection as well, just need to know where to go…maybe you North Shore people just need to come into this side once in a while. OH! Shameless! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Melbourne versus Sydney at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

