Reality bites

October 19, 2009 § Leave a comment

The old man was right. It was early last year when during a moment of insanity I decided to seek answers from a fortune teller. I was visiting my parents in Malaysia and chanced upon a palm-reader who was apparently rather famous, which I cleverly deduced from his many published accolades plastered outside his ‘office’. This I took as a sign of non-fraudulence, and as I stepped into the 3 x 3 meter room subtly decorated with hanging curtains and various gizmos, I sat down on the wooden stool to be greeted by Master Chin.

During our short 15 minute session, Master Chin not only revealed that I was to have a challenging few years ahead of me, but also suggested that the one making it hardest was to be me. I was skeptical. In hindsight I can see that what he had said was vague and general, but now I think there might have been some truth to what he had alluded to. Having stood at that fork in the road last year, I chose a path. It was a path no normal person would have gone down, but I was impulsive and wild. It was an unknown path at that time, but deep down inside my heart I knew it had to be taken. It has been long and often dark. It has broken my heart over and over again.

Every once in a while, I flip through my travel photos, play a few videos, and reflect on the amazing places and people who I’ve encountered along this path, and know that it will lead somewhere, eventually. It’s the only thing that makes my life real.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reality bites at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

