I smell trouble

October 12, 2009 § 2 Comments

Just some of the many things that makes me, me, are a few things – neurotic, neat, impatient, stubborn, short, and the list goes on. One of the things I’m not, is religious. Which I find very ironic seeing that I’ve currently spent almost 6 weeks working in an office filled with church-related work, people, and various religious paraphenalia. While I totally support freedom of religion and what-not, I do find myself taken aback when strangers who are religious approach me and not only make conversation related to religion, but try to convince me to go to their side.

Here are a selection of questions that I’ve been asked recently, and not just at work:

– Do you go to the CCC? (Chinese Christian Church)
– Do you want to come and check out my church?
– You know the Christian channel?

Usually I just say I don’t go to church. But occasionally I do find myself being tempted to say that I’ve sinned so much in this world that no church will ever accept me. To which I related to a friend who cleverly responded that it would prompt them to work harder to convince me to go to church so that they can save my soul. At this I pondered. And guess what? I’m Buddhist. No one can save my soul. I hope no one gets offended.

§ 2 Responses to I smell trouble

  • Orhan Kahn says:

    One of my close mates tries hard to get me to his church socials. Considering he is a reformed drug addict of only 2 months I always have to remind him that I’m agnostic, not an idiot.

  • Steph says:

    I suppose church is where many people seek solace and direction, which is totally fine if they weren’t so fanatic about other people who don’t believe the same thing. But if church helped your friend off drugs, good for church then.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I smell trouble at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

