Big bad Fern

September 1, 2009 § Leave a comment

The other day a dear friend of mine who lives on the other side of Redfern station was assaulted upon by an unknown man. It was 8pm on a clear Friday night, a mere 5 meters away from her house. Fortunately for her, the assailant hadn’t managed to get a tight grip on her, and she screamed her lungs out to draw out all the entire neighbourhood. The man panicked and ran away. She could have been less lucky.

Ever since I moved near the station I had never once felt unsafe or walked in any fear despite Redfern’s less luminous reputation. People always think bad things only happen to ‘other people’ but when something like this occurs to someone close to you, you sit up and pay attention. I don’t let this incident stop me from going out at night, but I am certainly more alert and paranoid whenever I walk home from the station. Last night the paranoia gripped me so tightly that I literally ran all the way home.

We shouldn’t have to live in fear, but I suppose it’s better to be safe than sorry. As the lovely companion has suggested, I now have a bunch of keys in my hand at all times, ready to scratch any attacker’s face off should they attempt to pounce upon me. As mace and pepper spray are apparently illegal in NSW, they’re my only defence. So if you see a girl walking around slashing keys in the air near Redfern station, it’s me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Big bad Fern at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

