Skeletons

May 20, 2009 § 4 Comments

Like all normal people, about once every couple of years I go through boxes of stuff that used to belong to me while living in my parents’ house many many years ago. Every time I throw things away that loses meaning and/or sentimental value as time ticks on by. It’s 2009 now, and I’ve narrowed it down to one small box of stuff that I can never bring myself to discard.

It’s full of a bunch of letters from people I knew when I was 15, back when email wasn’t fashionable, who wrote to me when I had to say goodbye to them. From the contents of these letters I can safely establish that I was a whole different breed of crazy 15 years ago yet amazingly the authors of these letters are now still my friends. As I read these letters, I couldn’t help but be glad that I’m no longer the negative, hostile, and terribly angry person I used to be. For the life of me I really can’t figure out where all that angst stemmed from, but I guess somewhere somehow the demons went away. Or perhaps they still lurk around somewhere in depths of my dark soul but I haven’t really seen them for a while.

For all of you folks who put up with all the shit, thanks for sticking around. I think I’ll never throw these letters away, so I can open them up every now and then to remind me not to be such a major asshole.

§ 4 Responses to Skeletons

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Skeletons at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

