Sin city

April 5, 2009 § 4 Comments

As I spend my fifth day with my parents, just milling about in this house that I know yet have never really lived in, I am quite pleased to declare that my body and mind have been given their much needed break. During the many hours of free time that I now possess, I began to reflect on my trip, and came to the conclusion that in the course of 6 months or so, I had committed all of the seven deadly sins.

Lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy, and pride were all experienced in some form or other, in various countries and situations. I even dare say, in rare cases, all in the same city. But those will not be discussed in depth on this blog at the moment, for I’m in the middle of drafting a piece for the online travel magazines I’m writing for, to be published at a later date. I will however, state that in the last few days, gluttony and sloth has been rating quite highly on my chart.

For those of you who have been following this blog, you will know that I love food to death. All 50kg and 163cm of me love eating, and I do a lot of this, possible with a high metabolism I seem to thankfully possess. As much as I adored Europe, when it came to food, it really was rather challenging to stick to my miniscule budget yet be able to concoct a tasty and quality meal. Most of the time it is difficult to source the right ingredients to cook the type of food I like, and when I do find them, it blows my budget completely away. In the end I settle for cheap and cheerful and be on my way.

Being in Malaysia where food is affordable and scrumptious, with great pleasure I have indulged heavily, without guilt nor a second thought, in one of my deadly sins. What with dad’s delicious meals combined with the endless food stalls in the great beyond we call Kuala Lumpur, I fear I shall happily die of gluttony.

Let’s not forget about sloth. I am unemployed, living with my parents, for the time being. Mom and dad are pretty delighted to see me. There is food and drink, and no need for me to procure them. I don’t have to pack my bag and hurry to my next destination. Currently, I have no plans or desire to rectify this situation. So, I think I shall continue with these two sins. That is, until my parents drive me completely insane or I become bored out of my mind.

Should this happen, be sure to stay tuned for the next adventure. I have a feeling it won’t take very long.

§ 4 Responses to Sin city

  • Orhan Kahn says:

    Good to see a young woman who would be able to keep up with me at the dinner table.

  • Steph says:

    Though you would need to starve me for a bit before I can keep up with your 3kg sitting.

  • 12ontheinside says:

    It would take me about 5 minutes to decide I was not staying with my folks. They of course are completely nuts so that’s no surprise really.

  • Steph says:

    Yeah it feels weird living here, it’s like I’m 15 again and soon I’ll have to sneak boys home quietly.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sin city at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

