Home, not really

April 2, 2009 § 2 Comments

Just to provide a brief update to those who don’t know, I’m back in the land of my birth, Malaysia, where I spent the first 13 years of my life, visiting the parents. It feels strange to be here, in my parents’ house, in my room, which isn’t even really my room. It’s a room with some stuff that used to belong to a person who used to be me. Things feel familiar yet alien. Anyhow I’m going to be here for a couple of months, a 30-year old bum living with her parents. I know, I’ve achieved so much!

For once, I can understand what people are saying all around me. However I only realized the effects of my European sojourn when I experienced a rather funny incident of reverse culture shock at the airport. With all seriousness I said to the Malay baggage controller ‘Oui! No, I meant Si!’ when I really wanted to say ‘Ya’ which means ‘Yes’ in Malay. At this the guy gave me a look of ‘wtf?’ and quickly, I slid away.

Other than the tragedy of me trying to reacquaint myself with languages, I have also been on the mission to rejuvenate myself as a normal girl again. Hello hair conditioner and skin moisturizer. But when I got to the pharmacy, I kind of remembered, this is Asia. There were 20 different types of whitening cream but all I really wanted was simple skin moisturizer. It took almost half and hour to finally find something comparable, but even that had a touch of ‘whitening’ to it. Personally I like having olive skin and a tanned complexion, and I don’t really want to be whitened, but in a place where people carry umbrellas daintily in the sun, it’s hard to escape.

So, hopefully in a few weeks time I will have soft skin and nice hair, and remember what it feels like to wear a dress. Oh yes, I’m in Asia. I’ve deprived myself for too long. The shopping begins.

§ 2 Responses to Home, not really

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Home, not really at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

