Which way?

March 18, 2009 § 3 Comments

Googlemaps have never really failed me. Every night before I set off to a new city, I always make a ritual out of looking it up on Google and meticulously drawing out the address and surrounding streets of every new couchsurfer I go to. However, when this is done amidst pure exhaustion and a distracted mind, it is a pretty futile exercise as I try to ‘shortcut’ it and leave out certain street names and other smaller alleys.

After taking an hour-long bus from the airport, then the metro, then the bus again, I arrived in Milan with a half-arse map. Armed with a poor sense of direction and a body drained of energy after a delayed journey from Copenhagen, I got lost. What? Of course I got off at the wrong stop. Naturally. For those who have been following since the beginning, you will nod your heads sympathetically. The bus is the devil, if anyone remembers this episode.

Speaking no Italian whatsoever, I wandered around for a bit and started to get a bit worried when I ended up in a dark alley with no human inhabitants. I decided to walk back where I came from, and thought it might be a good idea to get some directions from a restaurant. But wait, I spotted a couple, and from experience, getting directions from couples are always good.

I showed them my map, embarrassedly. They looked at it for a while and motioned for me to follow them. It turned out I was on the wrong side of the road, doh. They argued as couples do which way to go. It was cute. After 5 minutes they too stopped and asked for directions from a man who was walking his dog. He walked with us for a while and the four of us and the dog made an unlikely troop. Man With Dog left us, and in the end, Sylvia and Daniel not only walked with me all the way to L’s place, but even waited for me while I buzzed him just to make sure.

I got to L’s place and immediately got served with dinner. Now, is that Italian hospitality or what? Also, am feeling rather melancholic for many reasons. Shakespeare says it so well.

Parting is such sweet sorrow.

§ 3 Responses to Which way?

  • Orhan Kahn says:

    That was very nice of Sylvia and Daniel! I thought only Australians were this friendly.

    You poor thing. Get some rest, aye.

    You’re quite the globetrotter. I’m truly impressed with this European jaunt of yours.

  • Steph says:

    I was so grateful I gave Sylvia a big hug and almost didn’t wanna let go.

    Yes, you could probably tell I’m physically and emotionally tired from my posts. I will be saying bye to Europe in a couple of weeks and going somewhere else for an extended period to rest and recover. Next destination: stay tuned!

  • Orhan Kahn says:

    OH SNAP!! CLIFFHANGER!!

    Well played.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Which way? at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

