Before after

March 16, 2009 § 4 Comments

Despite the nostalgic tone of my last post, the fact of the matter is, although I’m body-weary and mind-worn, I’m having a fabulous time here in Copenhagen. Look, even blogging with pictures by Steph is back. My phone never ceases to amaze me.

Being the professional couchsurfer that I am right now, I’ve come to accept that residing with the male species always guarantees one thing, and that is, a steady supply of alcohol, cheese, pasta, and pizza. It is a reality that remains constant no matter what country I have been in, and fortunately for my poor body, fate has dealt me with 50/50 boys and girls.

The last time I crashed with boys was back in Prague, and the days there were pretty much fueled by gigantic cheap delicious meals, Czech shots, and all around fun-filled company. Although the above mentioned four main ingredients have been present (I know because my head hurts) also for the first time in my life I have had the priviledge to witness two very different spectacles in the last 48 hours.

X and I went to the ballet at the Copenhagen Opera House, which sits majestically on an island in Copenhagen Harbour. We took the taxi boat across the water and approached the building, its magnificent lights sparkling in the misty rain. The building was so striking and the ballet so stunning that I almost wept in its entire perfection.

Another first for me was going to watch the football. I must admit I was dubious in the beginning as I am not a sports fan, and usually after watching about 5 minutes of it on TV my mind always drifted away to things such as ice-cream or hobbits. But off we went to support J’s local team, and to my own surprise I found myself cheering for a club I have never heard of, and groaning whenever the team missed a goal. Spectator sport is a different incarnation altogether when seen in the flesh, and I completely got caught up with the chanting and singing at the testosterone-filled stadium. Go Brondbys.

So yeah, I like drinking tea with girls, but equally enjoy the said activities with the other gender. You are more than meets the eye. You are the unknown. I like waking up next to something beautiful.

§ 4 Responses to Before after

  • Orhan Kahn says:

    Good to see you’re not close minded. Being there and watching on TV are two very different things.

    ..body-weary and mind-worn..

    Love it!

  • Steph says:

    Totally true. I might have to start selecting a team to support when I return to Sydney. Oh, and Leonard Cohen is a poet, singer songwriter type person. Thought might be inspiration for your poetry classes.

  • V says:

    Sungguh?!!! Soccer ke? atau Footy? I just told Rod that there are a few of my girlfriends that aren’t aware that there are 3 codes of footy. Kerana I kahwin lelaki dari VIC, kena follow AFLlah in our house, jadi team I support ialah Swans (Rod’s for Essendon). Steph ada more choice jikalau nak support NRL, kerana kamu tingall dalam innerwest, club kamu sepatutnya Balmain Tigers. I sendiri suka the Dragons. Anyway crash course in Footy 101 and my tadika BM. ciao

  • Steph says:

    V, haha. We will have to have that crash course when I get back!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Before after at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

