Girlfriends

March 13, 2009 § 5 Comments

Whether by birth, chance, or circumstance, us girls, be it my close friends back home or those I’ve passed along the way recently, often find ourselves living very different lives. Alot of them have gotten married, some with kids or expecting them along the way. Some are still pursuing academic fulfilment, hankering after that Masters or Phd in order to be content. Others kind of drift along life’s highway, unsure of what to do next. Then there’s me, vagabond extraodinaire, blazing through the roads less traveled.

We are from all over the world, from one continent to the next. One could say that sometimes we have so little in common, yet if someone were to put all us girls together in one room, a mutual bonding between us all will inevitably form when a certain topic surfaces. Yes, you guessed it. MEN.

Throwing race, age, religion and patriotism out the window, girls love bitching about men no matter where we come from. There are romeos and assholes in every country and that unfortunately is an inevitable fact and cannot be dismissed. In many instances I’ve found myself sharing stories with girls I’ve just met and in my opinion if girls can talk about sex and men within minutes of knowing each other, you’re friends for life. This has been the case with many girls I’ve couchsurfed with, you know who you are. I would never have survived this long without you. Wink.

I’m writing this as a shout out to my girlfriends back home. I watched one season of Sex And The City not too long ago in some European country and thought about us. Yeah, I’ve found competent substitutes these last few months, but still I want you. I’m coming back to have that long-awaited ‘yum cha’ and tea-drinking session at your place, I. It would be nice to claim my kettle back from you, TW, and my beautiful dress from you, A. Soon, girls. For now, playing around with my blog template while watching the raindrops falling in Copenhagen.

§ 5 Responses to Girlfriends

  • Orhan Kahn says:

    This post reminds me of this song. Please, don’t ever put all the women I’ve ever known into one room, it would be the death of me!

  • Steph says:

    Oh, lol. I will have to start watching Flight Of The Conchords, everyone keeps raving about them.

    Also reminds me a bit of one episode of Scrubs where JD imagined all his ex-girlfriends in one room.

  • Orhan Kahn says:

    I would be absolutely surprised if you didn’t like Flight of the Conchords!

  • V says:

    Yum cha and tea at my place anytime. Honestly we have all become a bit reclusive here. You mentioned sex in the city. Afraid in sex and men talk department I will have little to contribute, I’m like the married Charlotte now. write more later..need to wake up first.

  • Steph says:

    Orhan and V: Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Girlfriends at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

