Wheel of fortune

February 25, 2009 § 2 Comments

For as long as I can remember, I have always been lucky. Either by twist of fate or life’s predetermined design, good fortune has always been present in every aspect of my life, and for every bit of ‘shit happens’, innumerable good things will always compensate for it.

The biggest shitty event that has ever occurred to me was the end of a seemingly perfect long-term relationship in October 2007. It was a fate dealt to me by my own hand, and with gritted teeth I accepted its awful consequences. With a remorseful heart, I trudged on in Sydney for a further 9 months before reaching a financial goal that would allow me to leave everything behind to see this side of the world.

It had to be an indefinite itenary, for I suspected that I was looking for something which might not be seemingly obvious. I didn’t know what. But something intangible. Something extraordinary for my ordinary life.

It has now been 5 months since I left. What have I found?

Mostly people. I have fallen in love with people. People I’ve met, who have become my dearest friends and often so much more. True as I write this on my final day in Prague, and hopefully even more true as I hope will be the case when I go to Copenhagen in about 2 weeks.

Seems like a long time ago that shit happened. I see now that it was necessary for everything good that has occurred so far. I’m one lucky bitch. Does the streak end at some point?

§ 2 Responses to Wheel of fortune

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wheel of fortune at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

