Stuff

February 19, 2009 § 4 Comments

It appears that I have gotten myself into a slight pickle with this visa dilemma. Now, although the nice German officers had decided to set me free into the night last week, the small possibility that I’m an illegitimate tourist still weighed on my mind like a cannonball waiting to burst forth.

After many attempts at contacting the Australian Embassy, I finally managed to speak to a person instead of a machine. Calmly explaining the situation, I asked Embassy Man for his advice. To summarize:

Me: So it’s not really my fault that the Swiss didn’t stamp my passport when I left the EU.

Him: No. But there’s really nothing you can do.

Me: What do you mean? Surely the embassy has encountered such similar scenarios?

Him: Sure, but we can’t do anything. You need to call the German police.

Me: What?

Him: Everything goes through the police.

Me: Thanks.

I hang up. NO FUCKING WAY! I do not want to contact German police. They sound scary. I have decided that I have done everything I can to resolve the situation, and if my own embassy cannot assist me, then it shall be their fault.

Yes, that is an extremely good alibi. I will go with that. Oh, what an exciting life I lead.

§ 4 Responses to Stuff

  • Ivy says:

    Thanks a load of help from the embassy, frankly I would have xpected more from Australia. I don’t understand, are you an illegal or not and what is the real story about the 3 months stay? Is it 3 months all of Eu in total or 3 moths per country. I also wonder if you would have been let off so lightly had you been using your m’sian passport instead. Sadly, I suspect not. chirrup!

  • Steph says:

    @Ivy: Yeah, I’m just gonna wing it. If anyone grills me, the truth shall save me 🙂

  • wai Man says:

    Hi Steph,

    so u r still illegal in Europe. That will increase your adventure trip through europe and through all the ocuchs much more, haha.
    Seems like you enjoyed the time in Berlin, even more when u had the last nights on my matress. It is definetely much better than the couch I only had offered you.
    Have fun in continuing your trip through the east europe.

    See you once in Australia, Malaysia or Bali (i am still not jealous ;)) have a massage in a nice resort for me toooooo.

    Greets from snowy Braunschweig
    Wai Man

  • Steph says:

    @WM: I took really good care of your mattress while you were away and it has never been happier! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stuff at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

