Bad ass

February 11, 2009 § 2 Comments


One of the most perplexing things about my personality that has contributed to both my merit and downfall is my incontrollable tendency to be an overachiever. It is truly a disorder that has infected me since I was born, and never has it manifested itself more evidently than whilst I’m traveling.

My first decade of living comprised of trying to win medals I no longer care about. It was schools’ way of encouraging gullible little children to study. (It worked). The second decade was spent chasing the opposite sex, an activity I discovered was frivolous and a total waste of time. (But bad habits die hard). I had spent the third decade pursuing one of the longest and most financially unrewarding careers imaginable: architecture, just to prove to myself that I could endure 7 years of training. Also, my mother wanted me to be an accountant. (So there, mom).

In view of the above I do believe I harbour a severe fear of being ordinary. What I am trying to strive for now is to hit my target of having been to 30 countries (which is really not a lot since there are almost 200 countries in the world) before heading back to Sydney, preferably with sexy French man in tow. Nevermind that it is rainy and snowy and the coldest European winter in more than 20 years. Not important that the loneliness and homesickness brooding in my mind has been appearing more and more. Doesn’t matter that I had been sick. My body and brain are saying, go home. Go home now. We refuse to be allies to your stupidity! Shut up, brain. Body, you shut up too. Must. Keep. Going.

Seriously. I’m Asian. I JUST CAN’T HELP IT. It is a blessing and a curse.

§ 2 Responses to Bad ass

  • Jeannie says:

    Ahh…funnily I know what u mean. I remembered was sick to the point of ‘turning blue’ on my US trip but still going to make sure I’ve ‘done’ as many places as possible. Just dont push your “bad ass” too much cos even “bad ass” need some downtime…tcare x

  • Steph says:

    @Jeannie: Hey we are made of the same blood, it is unstoppable!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bad ass at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

