Shades of grey

February 7, 2009 § Leave a comment

As my health, spirit and my current state of mind continues its downward spiral into what I can only describe as self-pitydom, for some reason or other the colour grey has decided to blanket all my thoughts like a cloud of doom.

The entire freaking city is covered in grey. Buildings are more like a darker shade, ominous and gloomy, complementing the equally grey cobblestone streets, which are kind of painful to walk on. Over the buildings the sky is foggy, the air thin and cold, and though I will say this shade of grey is a lighter one, it is albeit more powerful as it spreads its evil domain.

Like tendrils of smoke all this greyness has weaved its way into my head, and now everything I see, feel and hear is, well, bleah. One of the worst things about being sick is that I seem to have lost my ability to taste food. This is very sad indeed. If taste had a colour, it is now grey. My tastebuds have become grey, and all the food I have tried to ingest, is in my mind, a gruel shade of grey. You read right, gruel.

So, this wonderful experience is all in the little place called Brussels in which apparently the Smurfs were invented. Yes those little blue dunno-whats who are always joyful and chasing after Smurfette. Was there ever a Grumpy Smurf? Or perhaps all this greyness is why good old Gargamel was invented, to chase the happy blue things away, and eat them up?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shades of grey at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

