Reasons why

January 9, 2009 § Leave a comment

‘Not all who wander are lost’. – Tolkien

After that piece of emotional trash yesterday, today I’m feeling quite bright, and full of all kinds of perspective.

Not too long ago, I read a book by Paul Coelho named ‘The Zahir’. It is a tale about love and loss, but most of all it is a tale about one’s personal pilgrimage. This book reflected in many ways what this trip has meant to me. Bidding farewell to Sydney was not only about leaving the rat-race behind, but also about leaving myself behind. I wanted to lose myself, in order to find myself.

This is no regular holiday. There is no list, no specific city I need to be, no particular person I have to meet. It is all about the journey – there is no destination, no final frontier. I don’t believe in destiny. I travel by myself, to make decisions in solitude, to make my own fate. As I keep going, I continue finding myself with every step, and at the same time been found by places and people.

I am impulsive, wild, free. There will never be ‘what ifs’, there will be no regrets. Self discovery and shit, and this, is what it’s all about for me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reasons why at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

