Ustaritz

November 24, 2008 § Leave a comment


That’s where I am at the moment. Not exactly on my Lonely Planet ‘Europe On A Shoestring’. But somehow, here I am, typing away on a computer in a Basque house, in Basque Country, with a Basque family. So far I have had Basque liquor, Basque wine, Basque food and shown Basque books.

I hadn’t really planned on leaving from France to Spain and back to France again in less than a week. Let’s just say events took an unexpected twist and I got myself invited to spend a weekend in this region, which consisted mainly of Biarritz and Bayonne. Due to some bumps accommodation-wise, the weekend has now turned into a couple of extra days here for me. And believe it or not (I swear this good luck has gotta end sometime), I’m ‘accidentally’ couchsurfing with Xab’s parents in a little Basque suburb called Ustaritz.

I’m being fed like there’s no tomorrow, given a warm comfortable bed, and enjoying the company of amazing folks who are treating me like family. Arrrgh! I don’t really feel like leaving for San Sebastian tomorrow! Maybe one more night…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ustaritz at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

