Art-ed out

October 17, 2008 § Leave a comment

I’m feeling extremely cultured. Because I’ve spent three hours at the Musee d’Orsay looking solemnly at the art hanging on its walls. Actually I was there because I thought I needed to feel arty in Paris so where else to go?

I step inside and join the scores of people ‘admiring’ Manet, Monet, Munch, Degas and all the rest. I try to be as serious as everyone else and pretend to study the paintings and understand their deep meaning. But in reality most of the artwork is quite depressing and are usually images of doom and gloom and macabre subjects. I guess I’m just not one of those people who can appreciate a room-sized painting of evil-looking half man-beast creatures groveling at some divine being’s feet. I don’t understand why so many people are taking photos of these paintings.

But I suppose the highlight was a temporary exhibit of some of Picasso’s lesser known works. The entire exhibit was practically many,many reincarnations of the same painting, which Picasso had grotesquely manipulated of one of Manet’s. I decided then that Picasso was a sick, sick man with a sick, sick mind and I think his emotions must have festered and festered long and hard and deep in order to produce such grotesque images over and over and over again.

Yup. The man may be an artistic genius but boy, is he a nutbag. Guess all them artists are.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Art-ed out at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

