Back in Paris

October 13, 2008 § Leave a comment

Not very eventful news I know but I’ve just hung out in 3 different airports in 3 different continents in less than 24 hours. From Africa to the Middle East to Europe.

It sure feels like it has been a long trek from Cairo to here. Because I’ve been a cheapskate and paid next to nothing for my flight to Cairo, the catch was that I needed to go back to Abu Dhabi for my transfer to Paris, when in reality Paris is only less than 4 hours from Cairo. So there I was, half past midnight, in David’s apartment (found him in the end!) waiting for Sarah’s driver to drive me to the airport. I know, very spoilt indeed. When he didn’t turn up I started to panic a little and decided to call him. It turned out he got the days wrong and within 10 minutes, he sent his son instead. How good is that!

So I waited and waited at Cairo Airport, the place of nightmares, for a few hours. As the flight boarded, I was not really looking forward to going to Abu Dhabi Airport either. The place is basically a sphere of boredom and I had to wait 5 hours. I wander round and round aimlessly. I want to sleep, but it’s hard to do that with scores of UAE men staring and clustering around all the seats with their feet in the air. I continue my aimless wandering.

Finally, on my flight to Paris, I thought it might be a good idea to finally listen to those French lessons I had saved on my ipod months ago, which was taken in preparation for this trip. Guess what. They weren’t there and I decide I would have to wing it in France with ‘Excusez-moi, parlez-vous anglais’ with humility and embarassment on my face. Yeah sometimes it amazes me how my extreme disorganization still manages to get me to the places I need to go.

Well, I got here, and check out that very cool view from Cecile’s cute little Parisian apartment. Sure it’s 5 floors up little winding stairs with no lift but it was all worth it. It’s got a super nice bathroom and kitchen and sure as hell beats staying at a backpackers hostel. This week I’m just going to chill out in Paris and help Cecile with paint colours for her walls. And perhaps she will help me with my appalling French. Yay fun times.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back in Paris at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta