Stranger things have happened

October 12, 2008 § Leave a comment

I forgot to mention that while I was in Cairo, I did a few things that some might call, ‘off the beaten track’. A couple of must-mention highlights include:

Watching Countdown with Sarah on a lazy afternoon. Countdown is basically a British gameshow where one attempts to form the longest word out of a series of alphabets. If you have read/seen Nick Hornby’s ‘About A Boy’ you will know what I mean. Of course we were only watching it because Sarah was on it, on which she won a Countdown teapot proudly displayed in her Cairo flat.

Going to the one and only Rugby Club in Maadi. This is another one of those places where one will only find it if someone told you where it was. It was a Saturday night and I wandered down the confusing streets of Maadi in search of this place. I had some rough directions. I was told it was beside some restaurant we went to the night before. I found it easily enough despite it being pitch black and it being the most ordinary building with no signage except a little Rugby sticker on the front door.

After a 10 second hesitation (surely this can’t be a Rugby Club???) I rang the doorbell. I almost expected to give it a secret knock which of course I did not know. The door opened and there it was, a real Rugby Club full of English expats, and other minorities such as me. I found Sarah and her friend Katie and basically spent the entire night getting wasted and making fun of all the old people gyrating on the dance floor. An old guy wearing baggy shorts with socks pulled up to his knees, thrusting his pelvic region to 80s hits, is in my opinion, WRONG.

Making a new Canadian friend randomly on the street. Ok so it wasn’t so random because David knew her but what happened was she lived down the road. So what do I do but invite myself to her place. I found myself spending a nice evening with Jen playing with her cat and cooking a decent dinner at her place while helping her get ready for a date.

Thanks for the wonderful memories!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stranger things have happened at STEPH VERSUS WORLD.

meta

